EEOC Presents 2006 “Freedom to Compete” Awards

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission presented the agency’s second annual “Freedom to Compete Award” to seven private and public sector employers for practices that promote access and inclusion.


The awards are part of Chair Cari M. Dominguez’s Freedom to Compete Initiative, a national outreach education and coalition-building campaign launched in 2002 to provide free and unfettered access to employment opportunities for all individuals.


The seven award recipients and their programs recognized by EEOC include:

    • McDonald’s Corporation of Oak Brook, IL - “Employee Networks”


    • Arizona Public Service Company of Phoenix, AZ - “Academy for the Advancement of Small, Minority and Women Owned Enterprises”


    • Public Service Electric & Gas Company of Newark, NJ - “Energy Utility Technology Degree Program”


    • North Broward Hospital District of Ft. Lauderdale, FL - “Employee Advocacy and Fair Treatment Program”


    • Fluor Corporation of Sugar Land, TX - “Mentoring Circles Program”


    • U.S. Department of Defense - “Computer/Electronic Accommodations Program”


  • Linking Employment, Abilities and Potential (LEAP) of Cleveland, OH - for hiring, training and promoting qualified persons with disabilities to help other persons with disabilities find and retain employment


Additional information about EEOC’s Freedom To Compete awards, as well as last year’s award recipients, is available on the EEOC's Web site.

Stay up-to-date with DCI Alerts, sign up here:

Advice, articles, and the news you need, delivered right to your inbox.


Stay in the Know!